Montana Bound (Part Two)

24 05 2009

So where was I?  Ah, yes, North Dakota.  As I was saying, the middle part of the United States, or “Flyover Country,” as our sophisticated coastal elites call it, is not exactly the most exciting place geologically.  Still, to really get a feel for this great nation, I think all politicos should be required to drive through it before taking office.  It really gives one a sense of the scale of our country.  They might also realize how stupid tiny tin-can Smart Cars, though possibly well-suited for cities, are out in the West. But I digress.

We were a bit early in the year to see amber waves of grain, but there were really cool grain elevators and silos every few miles:

I'm fairly certain this was in North Dakota somwhere, but what's the difference really?

I'm fairly certain this was in North Dakota somwhere, but what's the difference really?

Finally, we arrived in Montana.  In keeping with their libertarian attitude, no tax money was spent on a multimillion-dollar welcome center.

Welcome to Montana!  Please be patient, we promise it gets more interesting!

Welcome to Montana; please be patient, we promise it gets more interesting!

I would have raised a toast in honor of Vasily, but I didn’t have any vodka handy.  I have not yet seen any rabbit farms.

"I would have liked to have seen Montana..."

"I would have liked to have seen Montana..."

The landscape might not have been exactly gripping, but there were some cool little towns out there.  Also, they have different gas stations than we do back in Michigan.

There's a "Dino Trail" to follow, but sadly, I didn't have time on this trip.

There's a "Dino Trail" to follow, but sadly, I didn't have time on this trip.

Montana has generally low taxes, but a gasoline tax and a restaurant tax help make up their revenue.  Still, gas prices weren’t much higher than they were back in Michigan.  Plus, the logo has some nonspecific sauropod on it, which (to me) is worth at least a few cents more per gallon.

A Chrysler dealership (I can’t remember which town it was in) had two beat up Dodge Power Wagons lined up out in front, one with a tow truck attachment and one with a pickup bed.  At least one was for sale, and I was halfway tempted to ditch my plan to get a Wagoneer and buy one of those instead.  Luckily, I was struck by a rare spell of sensibility and decided to hold off.  Someday, if I’m living on a ranch or something, I can probably rationalize buying one for heavy-duty hauling.

Trucks just don't have this kind of character these days.

Trucks just don't have this kind of character these days.

After many hours of driving, I got my first glimpse of the Rockies.

They get bigger eventually.

They get bigger eventually.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

