I’m back!

14 06 2009

Yeah, I know, I haven’t written anything since Thursday.  Actually that’s not even true-I’m working on three bigger posts, but I’ve got writer’s block (blogger’s block?) and can’t seem to finish them. One is about why I’m such a cruel, heartless libertarian; the second is about the automobile industry and the most innovative, exciting car company that doesn’t exist (yet), Kozak Motors; the final one is my ruminations on democracy.  So yeah, look for those soon.

I haven’t been sitting around being a college student on summer vacation though.  I’m finally redoing the Packard interior—new carpet, headliner, etc.

This is what was lurking under the ratty rubber matting in front...

This is what was lurking under the ratty rubber matting in front...

Of course, there was ancient tar paper below the ancient matting that you see above.  I could have used some biodegradable, eco-friendly surface cleaner.  Instead, I opted to use a man’s solvent: kerosene.

I know what you're thinking, and you're absolutely right—there is no way using a flammable liquid in an enclosed space could ever be a bad idea!

I know what you're thinking, and you're absolutely right—there is no way using a flammable liquid in a semi-enclosed space could ever be a bad idea.

The kerosene dissolved a half century of tar and grime effortlessly.  I still need to wash out the kerosene residue, but the arcane tar-based treatment kept the floor pans more or less rust-free.  If there was any rust-through, my interior restoration would have gotten nightmarishly expensive, but fortunately, Packard knew how to make a damn good car right up until they went under.

If only the weatherstripping held up as well as the floor pans…

Yeah, that's not really keeping any weather out.

Yeah, that's not really keeping any weather out.

Good thing weatherstripping is cheaper than metalwork.

I also made falafel for lunch, for no particular reason.

I'm still convinced this is healthier than fast food.

I'm still convinced this is healthier than fast food somehow.

I can’t believe how cheap it is to make this stuff.  You can feed four for probably less than five dollars, less if you buy in bulk.  My one piece of advice: don’t use wheat bread to make the bread crumbs used in the above recipe.  I might have been the only one who noticed it, but I could pick up the flavor in the finished product.

Speaking of the finished product:

So tasty.

Cucumber sauce on top. I need to work on presentation, but it tasted good.

I feel falafel is greatly underappreciated.  Jews like it.  Arabs like it.  Could it be a key component of a Mideast peace agreement?

It’s not exactly clear from the trailer, but it’s a short musical about children of competing Israeli/Palestinian falafel stands.

Oh, and the Wagoneer is finally ready and sitting in my driveway.

This picture is from Montana, I'm not sure why I haven't posted it yet.

This picture is actually from Montana, I'm not sure why I haven't posted it yet.

The transmission cooler was shot and it needed a new universal joint, but fortunately, it didn’t need a transmission rebuild.  That gets really expensive.

I’ll have more pictures after I give it a wax and fix the chip in the windshield.  I need to take them for insurance purposes anyway.  I’m not really sure what to name it, but I’m thinking something along the lines of “The White Whale” or “The White Elephant,” but those are pretty weak.  Any suggestions?

Actions

Information

2 responses

15 06 2009
Nick

The Great White Hope

17 06 2009
Nina

I want to try the falafel!
And, if it makes you feel better, presentation-wise it looks MUCH better then the falafel that we made at preschool camp last summer….
🙂

Leave a Reply

