Coins and Stuff

15 06 2009

Suck somewhere between the prodigious cushions of the front seat of the Packard was this:

Be impressed.

Be impressed.

That’s right, a 1957 Roosevelt Dime.  That means it’s real silver.  Maybe I’m way more fascinated by this find than I rightfully should be, but to me, little discoveries like this are just one more reason a classic car is worth the time and endless series of frustrations and setbacks that must be overcome to keep one on the road.

It's like a couch.  You can fit a lot of history between those cushions.

It's like a couch. You can fit a lot of history between those cushions.

I also pulled an old Stag beer bottle top from the floor near the gas/break pedals.  I’m not sure when open container laws came into effect, so maybe the reason it’s there is not as bad as it seems at first glance.  Apparently Stag is still brewed and consumed in the Southern Illinois/Missouri region, which is where the car was originally from.  So that makes sense.

It’s kind of a tangent, I know, but why are today’s coins so terrible compared with those of, say, fifty years ago?  No, this isn’t just because I’m obsessed with old things.  I think I make a legitimate point.  For example, compare this:

1921 Peace Dollar.  My favorite coin.

1921 Peace Dollar. My favorite coin.

And this:

1924 Saint Gaudens Double Eagle.  My other favorite coin.  I'll own one someday.

1924 Saint Gaudens Double Eagle. My other favorite coin. I'll own one someday.

To this:

Seriously?  This is the best we can do?

Seriously? This is the best we can do? Zombie Presidents?

Most modern United States coins are hit or miss.  The above picture is a good example; Van Buren doesn’t look too bad, but Jackson?  Really?  He was kind of a dick to the Cherokee, but I think he deserves a better representation that that.

The coins of the past were elegant and beautiful almost without exception.  Even the mundane Roosevelt dime I found, identical to the ones produced today, has more dignity than the Presidential $1 coins being produced today.  Surely we can find some good sculptors somewhere.  Our past Presidents deserve better, and I’d probably be inclined to use the coins if they were of the same caliber as the Peace Dollar.

So when I’m President, expect the Make America’s Coins Not Suck Act to be the first thing that crosses my desk.  Followed shortly thereafter by some swift, uh, extreme Income Tax “reforms…”

Actions

Information

One response

22 06 2009
Paige

hahaha. “Zombie Presidents”. I lolled. Ok, I laughed out loud. But they totally do look like zombies.

Leave a Reply

