Eugene Onegin and Me

23 09 2009

So long as the internet back at the house is up later tonight, I’ll be able to write a longer post. I’m in between classes now, having just finished this week’s survey of Russian Lit…

I’m nearly done with Pushkin’s Eugene Onegin (the first work we’re reading), considered by many to be one of, if not the, seminal work of classical Russian literature. It’s written in lyrical, fast-moving verse, and is a lot more approachable than most classics can ever hope to be.  And for a book of poetry, which I generally abhor, it’s eminently bearable.

With about ten pages left to go, I’m happy and a bit surprised to say that I enjoyed it greatly. It really doesn’t take long to read—it’s just that fraternity activities have intruded upon my free time on a nightly basis.

Ach, I’ve got to get to class. I’ll finish this up later…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

