Why I haven’t been posting much…

27 09 2009

This weekend has been hectic to say the least. I just now finally got the time to sit down and do a bit of reading (though it was required reading for Russian Lit—the first few chapters of Lermontov’s A Hero of Our Time).  I’ve been left with an appreciation for the Byronic hero and a strong desire to visit Russia, for some reason.

But the past two or three days were as fun as they were exhausting. Yesterday, I planned and threw a homecoming dinner for about twenty Triangle alumni who came in to town for the game, plus their guests and a bunch of the active brothers. All in all, we served nearly sixty steaks (I didn’t trust myself to grill, so that was delegated) plus salad, etc. I hope that the dinner will have served its intended purpose: getting alumni engaged in our chapter’s affairs again. It’s tough when your fraternity is off campus for ten years, since a lot of the old connections break down and interest fades. Last year, for example, only a handful of alums turned up for homecoming.

It’s good to know that the interest is out there. Like in anything else, it’s easier to work hard towards a goal when the results are plainly visible.

Further, I had no idea that I enjoyed hosting events like that. It was genuinely enjoyable. Granted, I don’t think I’d want to do it for a living, but in the future, I’m going to throw some awesome parties.

Friday, of course, was spent preparing for the events of Saturday. Fortunately, our house modem was replaced, allowing me to reliably type and post this. Thanks, Comcast, for actually doing your job! I still don’t have internet in my room, but progress is progress.

It’s time for me to head off and write my weekly Spanish journal. Tomorrow, with rush and the homecoming dinner behind me, and reliable internet in the house, I hope to have the opportunity to post again.

I could sign off with some Spanish phrase, but I’m not like that.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

