School Happens

9 10 2009

First off, thanks for everyone who kept coming by for the past week despite my utter lack of posts!  As much as I hate to make every post an apology for not posting more and a promise to do daily updates, I’d like to apologize for not posting more and I promise that I’ll do daily (or at least more or less daily) updates.

Lately, though, It’s been tough to balance my education and my schooling.  As happy as I am that I’ve found extracurriculars to throw myself at, they take up a lot of time—time that I also need to study for tests and write papers. Since the past week’s wave of exams and papers was the first of the semester, I guess I sort of forgot how to budget my time.

And it’s kind of hard to write a rough draft (worth 40% of the grade, for some incomprehensible reason) comparing and contrasting the subtle difference’s between the anti-heroes of Pushkin’s Eugene Onegin and Lermontov’s A Hero of Our Time at three in the morning.

They were both Russian; doesn't that more or less explain everything without requiring further analysis?

They were both Russian authors; doesn't that more or less explain everything without requiring further analysis?

I actually fell asleep on my keyboard attempting to write it, and when I woke up a relatively short period of time later, I suddenly had a ten page paper in front of me!  Of course, the second half of the paper began something like this:

“…inevitably, Pechorin uses ‘destiny’ to exonerate himself of any responsibility for hisccfghftyccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccc…”

Clearly, it needed some substantial reworking before I was able to submit it.  Also, my time management skills might need some work, though I’ve learned keyboards aren’t very comfortable places to sleep.

But I’m actually fairly satisfied with what I’ve been able to accomplish so far; the College Libertarians party last Friday was pretty successful (although increasing attendence, and group membership, is always an objective).  And Yaron Brook of the Ayn Rand Institute came into town Tuesday for a discussion of capitalism’s role (or lack thereof) in causing this current recession.  I’ll probably edit and post my writeup of that event tomorrow morning.

Now I just need to keep up the pace as my school workload continues to increase.

I’m off to take a Salsa lesson (no, really), but I’ve got plenty of stuff written up to post over the next few hours or days.  One of the great things about not being able to figure out how to upload the College Libertarians newsletter here is that I get to recycle all of the content…

Actions

Information

One response

16 10 2009
Nina

You should do a post about salsa dancing!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

