Cider Mill

25 10 2009

This morning, before I went off to more or less write my story for the latest issue of the Michigan Review, Nina and I went to the Dexter Cider Mill.  It’s apparently the oldest continuously operating cider mill in the state of Michigan.  Clearly they know what they’re doing, as the place was packed at 11:30 or so.

It doesn't look like much from street level...

It doesn't look like much from street level...but apparently they've got free wine tasting, so you know it's a class establishment.

This is the second time I’ve been to the mill.  It’s stuck more or less on the edge of Dexter, which looks very quaint, I guess.  I imagine it’s what Ann Arbor looked like before the subsequent waves of invading academics and yuppies took the place over.

For some reason, I always pictured cider mills being set in apple orchards, but now that I think about it, that doesn’t really make much sense.  Back in the day, you needed flowing water to power the mill, so unless you had a prime riverfront orchard, I doubt you’d be able to have the mill and orchard side by side.  Then again, I don’t know much about the history of Dexter.  The mill could have been in the middle of an orchard before the area “developed.”

Whoever designed the place was apparently more interested in making great cider than putting up a quaint looking facade.

Whoever designed the place was apparently more interested in making great cider than putting up a quaint-looking facade.

We got fresh donuts and hot cider, and I got a half gallon to take back.  Everything was great.  Somehow the donuts tasted light and not too sweet; I guess the brown paper bag they came in absorbed all of the grease…

IMG_1367View out back. It was a bit cloudy in the morning, but ended up being a nice fall day.

No, I didn’t take any pictures of the interior.  Or any pictures of me or Nina.  I’m just getting used to actually using my camera and I’ve discovered that it takes pretty decent pictures, so give me some time.  Besides, Dexter is only twenty minutes or so (maybe a bit less) from Ann Arbor, so I can probably be persuaded to go back for more cider and donuts before the season ends mid-November.

Actions

Information

One response

27 10 2009
Nina

I will be persuading you to go back again 🙂 because I am almost out of apple cider!! (Maybe because I keep sharing??) They have apple cider slushies there–perhaps we should try those next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

