Whoa.

7 01 2010

Cue the Keanu Reeves “whoa.”  Again.

I was going to write something about my second day of class (these professors don’t mess around—in every case they dove right into the material instead of screwing around with a “syllabus day”) but that would probably be pretty boring.

Instead, I give you this:

The Third and the Seventh: Unbelievable CG Video.

Watch it if you’ve got time.  It’s hard to believe that it’s all computer generated, as the website of the creator claims.

So peaceful. So serene. So...fake?

In fact, if it wasn’t for some of the more surreal stuff going on in the last segment, I’d guess this is some huge hoax designed to make us all feel really stupid.  Like, after the internet collectively responds by saying “yeah it’s pretty good but I can tell by the lighting off the clothespin thirty seconds in that it’s CG” the creators go “oh yeah, that was actually a live action shot, and all you internet superheroes should get out of your basements and view real life somewhere other than a computer screen” or something.  But as I said, some of the images seem to preclude that.

I doubt they actually shredded the contents of the Phillips Exeter Library for this footage, so something here is computer generated.

I think the irony here is that, when presented as cutting edge CGI, me and doubtless hundreds of thousands of others will sit, mouth agape, and watch slow-motion shots of natural beauty and/or mundane objects that we otherwise would have ignored.  If it was just slow-mo shots of non-CGI natural beauty and/or mundane objects set to minimalist music, I wouldn’t give it a second look.  I’m sure there’s a lesson to be drawn here.  Somewhere.

Yet instead of formulating some Zen-like response to this remarkable video about how we should slow down and contemplate the beauty of life all around us I’m sitting here thinking “If this is what the Matrix is going to be like, plug me in, baby!

I’m sure there’s a lesson to be drawn from that as well.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

