Cars I like

24 01 2010

I’m wrapping up some applications for various summer internships tonight, so I decided to just post some pictures of cars I like.  Just to get my preferences on the record.  To motivate me when I feel like taking a nap instead of working.

First, there’s the Maserati 3500GT.  This was the first “mass production” Maserati, and I think they did a pretty good job.

I mean, ANYBODY can own a Ferrari.

It’s clean and understated.  It’s kind of a common theme among cars I like—most of them, I think.  I know it’s probably a stereotypical pick and all, what with the James Bond association, but the Aston Martin DB5 is up there on my list:

You usually see these in silver, but I like the British Racing Green on this one.

Like the Maserati, it’s powered by an inline six.  So performance isn’t going to rival a new $1,000,000+ supercar, but you can definitely go 1960’s sports car fast and there’s the added thrill of knowing that if you crash you’ll probably die in a fiery explosion.

I know getting this car would be next to impossible, since I’m pretty sure the only one that exists is in a museum, but I really like the 1954 Plymouth Explorer concept.  I’m guessing that it also had some sort of inline six like the other two.

Yeah, I posted a picture of this car before.

But if I’ve somehow got the cash to buy the other two cars, I figure I’ll have the resources to have one custom-built.  No big deal.  Anybody know any custom fabrication shops?

Going back in time and adding a few more curves, there’s the 1935 Auburn Boattail Speedster.  Supercharged, of course.

It's tough to find pictures of a real one, since there are so many fiberglass-boded replicars on the road. Even the full-scale ones never look quite right for some reason.

The supercharged editions were all tested to speeds in excess of 100 mph before sale.  I’m sure that feels plenty fast with bias-ply tires and drum breaks.

Finally, the most radical car on today’s list:  the sharknose Graham.

These are pretty rare...

It’s mighty hard to find parts for these, even if you can find one to buy.  So again, considerable resources would be needed to restore one unless you could find a complete example in the first place.

It be cool to be able to afford one or two of these someday.  So I’d better get back to work.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

