Aha!

15 02 2010

My econ exam went better than expected—partly because of my considerable investment of time into studying, and partly because the stats class I’m taking helped me guess more effectively.  I’ve bought myself some time (until the next midterm, at least) to get the concepts and, more importantly, the execution of the concepts, down pat.

This week is going to be crazy busy as well, as I prepare to head out to Washington for CPAC.  It looks like we’ve got a group of five or six interested individuals who will be heading out as well, so it’s looking to be a great time.

Plus, I’m 21 this year, so I can legally drink at the bars.  That should be great; my hotel is right across from the conference, so I can wake up hung over and still make it to the opening speakers.  Not that I’d ever get hung over, of course.

I’ll be blogging from the event, partially for the sake of the Michigan Review.  I’m expecting the attendees to be excited and ready for action; last year, after Obama’s election, everyone seemed determined, yet a bit somber.  A lot has changed over the past year, and I expect that to be reflected in the crowd.

Finally, since I’ve got to get started on the week’s homework (it all needs to be turned in by Wednesday since I’m leaving Wednesday afternoon), I wanted to post a link to an interesting story in the LA Times:

‘Tea Party’ activists filter into GOP at ground level

This is great to see.  While the natural reaction to the general unhappiness over the behavior of our elected representatives might at first be something along the lines of “screw it, let’s start a third party,” this isn’t really productive.  We’re more or less stuck with a two-party system.  Instead, we must work to capture one of the existing parties and push it in another direction (I brought this up in one of those Rules for Radicals posts).  The obvious choice for this is, of course, the rudderless GOP.

Tea Party activists seem to be taking this to heart.  There’s some concern that establishment GOP leadership is trying to co-opt the Tea Party movement, which seems to want to be generally anti-incumbent, anti-big government.

That’s a good thing: if the establishment GOP is working on taking over the Tea Party movement from the top down, they’ll never expect it when the Tea Party movement takes over the GOP from the bottom up.  How very Alinsky-ish.

Now is the time to get involved with your local GOP, if you can spare the time and effort and have the patience for petty politicking.  If you don’t like the stance that the GOP takes on a particular issue, this is a great time to make your voice heard.  Hell, I’ve heard (and the article states) that some precinct positions go unfilled either due to lack of interest or because nobody even knows that said positions exist.

This is how real, lasting change happens.

//

Actions

Information

2 responses

17 02 2010
Mary Lou

Graham – Your uncle and I are wondering about the ad(s) that are now appearing on your blog. Are you realizing some serious coin from those?

18 02 2010
Graham Kozak

For some reason, I’m not seeing the ads nor any money from said ads—I do have AdBlock, so that might be part of it. I’ll be on the lookout for any six-figure checks in the mail, though.

Leave a Reply

