The End is Near

18 03 2010

Well, for the school year anyway.  At least sort of.  My last day of class is April 20; my last final takes place April 29.  This means that I’m (more or less) exam free until then!  And it means that I’ll soon be able to get out of Ann Arbor for a few precious months and do something productive for a while.  It might be more than a month away, but I can almost taste it.

Though I didn’t do as well on the Econ 401 exam (the main reason I haven’t been online) as I would have hoped, I’m still in fair shape for that class.  And, since I’ve decided to drop one of my other challenging classes, I can focus on the econ exam.  Apparently, Econ 401 is the most challenging class in the entire major.  Considering that I only need to score a 30% or so on the final exam to pass, I’m actually feeling pretty good about my academic future for once.

Oh, since I’ve got to head to class, I don’t have time to rant about the health care travesty.  That’s probably not such a bad thing, since I’m not sure I can add all that much to the debate that wouldn’t get me placed on some federal watch list (though I’m probably already on a number of those as it is).

Instead, check out this link.  I put it in the last College Libertarians newsletter.  Here’s the blurb I wrote up:

It’s a terrible shame that conservation-minded individuals so often turn to the government in order to advance environmental causes.  As Ronald Bailey points out in a recent Reason magazine article entitled Sea Turtle Tastes Like Veal, free markets offer an efficient and effective alternative to conventional environmental regulation.
Many students are aware of the plight of sea turtles; they are susceptible to extensive hunting by both predators and humans, and beachfront development further threatens their numbers.  So eating turtles in order to save them might not spring to mind as the most ecologically sound response to their endangered status.

Yum (?)

Yet raising sea turtles for human consumption is exactly what several private companies have attempted to do—only to face ever-more-restrictive environmental regulations for their efforts.  What unimaginative environmentalists fail to note is that the sole remaining green turtle farm in the Cayman Islands has released tens of thousands of excess turtles into the wild, a voluntary action that can only help increase the endangered species’ odds of survival.
The apparent (if unfortunately hobbled) success of turtle farming in the Cayman Islands provides a great example of how property rights and market forces can create a true sense of environmental stewardship far more effective than any further laws or regulations.

Actions

Information

One response

19 03 2010
Ellen Varney

Interesting concept. Rather than “in/outside the box”, think – there is no box, which you already know how to do. Ellie V.

Leave a Reply

