If All Else Fails, I’ll Open a Restaurant

27 04 2010

The fraternity meal plan ended last week, so those of us still at the house have been subsisting on moldy hot dog buns and the cockroaches that we spear, caveman-style, with toothpicks.  Or so I’ve been told.  I was back in Grosse Pointe for the weekend.

I did find a lot of empty potato chip bags when I returned this afternoon, though,  which suggests that those horrific accounts are not far from the truth.  What little remaining wood furniture we had was also broken up and burned in the living room in a desperate attempt to stay warm and perhaps signal for help, or a passing catering van.  It seems that we truly are only three warm meals away from our inner savage.

Not content with this state of affairs, I decided to make myself a luxuriant dinner.  Or try to, anyway.  I wanted something substantial, but not too heavy.  I wanted to grill as well.  So I settled on Greek Lamb Kabobs.

Here are some pictures to prove that tire-burning, gun-loving rubes like myself are capable of doing the things typically reserved for the more sensitive, socially responsible types:

In the thyme/sherry marinade.

Skewered on rosemary kabobs. This is crucial.

On the grill. This used to be a propane grill, ghetto rigged for charcoal. The coals were a bit low...

Just about done, with some (soon to be) warm pita.

Magnificent!

With the tzatziki-ish sauce. The presentation was, unfortunately, a little lacking.

These turned out great.  If I got to choose between working eight hours a day and surviving on drive through food or collecting a decent pension check and eating lamb kabobs instead, I’d choose the latter.  Food like this probably explains why Greece is such an economic embarrassment.

Anyway, the rosemary sprigs really made the dish.  I was going to use metal skewers, but the rosemary was worth the extra effort: the middle of the lamb absorbed the flavor nicely and the meat was not seared in the center.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t find Greek yogurt, so the sauce was a bit runnier than I would have liked.  Thus, the final picture doesn’t look restaurant-quality.  So use Greek yogurt if you try this.

Tomorrow, I’m going to make West African Peanut Soup from the Sunday’s at Moosewood Restaurant cookbook.  I’ll probably make enough for the rest of the week; maybe I can avoid catching and eating mice to survive until after my last final exam Thursday afternoon.

As part of my “everything can eventually be somehow justified as a business expense” plan, I’ll be taking pictures of that process as well.

Actions

Information

6 responses

27 04 2010
Gordie

Graham – Looks great, I’m sure they were tasty. Is that a can of anchovies or what in the first two pictures? Part of the marinade, or just a snack while cooking? GPU.

27 04 2010
Gordie

I answered my own question by going back and looking at the link to the recipe – anchovies as part of the sauce….interesting. Enjoy the peanut soup – it’s a staple at the restaurants in Colonial Williamsburg (where we’re headed at the end of May). GPU.

27 04 2010
Graham Kozak

Yeah, I tossed a couple in the sauce as per the recipe, but I ended up eating the rest. I used to think they were disgusting, but I seem to have picked up a taste for them sometime in the past few years.

Enjoy Williamsburg, I’d like to get back down there sometime soon. I’ll have to see pictures of your trip.

28 04 2010
Min

Looks like my comment from yesterday didn’t show up. Here is again.

You can make your own Greek style yoghurt by pouring unflavored wholemilk yoghurt onto a cheesecloth lined strainer over another container to drain away the whey.To speed things up twist together the four corners of the cheesecloth first and squeeze out the liquid. Place in fridge to until you achieve the consistency of sour cream (2-3 hrs).

Grrek yoghurt (I use FAGE) is available at Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s.

28 04 2010
Graham Kozak

Ha, if only we had luxuries like “cheesecloth” and “strainers” at the frat house. I’ll give the conversion a shot once I get home; I heard FAGE is good, but probably a bit pricey for me, so any improvisation is great.

29 08 2011
Recipe File: Greek Lamb Kabobs « Great Lakes Gazette

[…] first whipped up the dish at his frat house and posted it on his blog last year, and more recently concocted it for the family (access the recipe at his […]

Leave a Reply

