Viewpoint in the Michigan Daily

31 03 2011

Former New Mexico Governor (and future Presidential candidate) Gary Johnson is coming to our campus tonight, so in preparation, I wrote a viewpoint that appeared in the Michigan Daily.

You can read it here.

It’s something I did on behalf of both the College Libertarians and Students for a Sensible Drug Policy, which I am not a member of. So I had to try to encompass the reasons both groups had for bringing Gary Johnson to campus while also appealing to a liberal student base (so we’d actually have attendees at our event…more on that to follow).

If I’d written with my own intentions in mind, I would have focused less on college campus favorites (opposition to war, drug legalization) and more on the other issues I see dramatically impacting myself and the other unfortunate members of my generation, namely, regulatory overreach and crushing debt. But I suppose it’s all closely related–it’s just a matter of choosing the right message for a college audience.

Anyhow, I’m off to the event!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

