Dream cars: the Maserati 3500 GT

7 01 2012

If you gave me a blank check and told my to buy any car ever produced, I’d probably go with the Maserati 3500 GT. Ideally dark blue or red with a tan interior. I’m not sure what it is about that car–produced from 1957 to 1964–that appeals to me so much, but something about it sets it apart from the other, more famous Grand Tourers of the era.

It also has the distinction of representing Maserati’s first attempt at volume production. 2226 were produced in several body styles.

It even looks good in white

Unless that blank check also covered repairs, however, I’m not sure if I’d ever take it out of the garage; I’ve heard it said that Maseratis are Ferraris you can’t find spare parts for.

With its 3485.3 cc 220bhp inline six, it's not going smoke a new supercar, but who really cares?

So far, this video is the closest I’ve gotten to actually driving one:

Bonus: see if you can spot the International Harvester Scout II in the background!

Yet these cars aren’t completely unattainable, at least when compared to other collectible sports cars of the same era (in particular Ferraris and those made famous by a certain 007). Well-maintained examples list in the $80-120k range, restorable vehicles for far less. I can dream, can’t I?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

